FANDOM


Mage

The mage might be considered the most scholarly of the arcane spellcasting classes. A mage may learn any and all of the arcane schools, at the cost of spell progression.

Statistics

  • Hit Die: d6
  • Alignment: Any
  • Abilities: The Mage uses Intelligence for spellcasting.
  • Spells per day: As Wizard (Core Rules).
  • Spell Progression: As Wizard (Core Rules).
  • Spell list: Choose 1 school.
  • Weapon Proficiencies: Simple weapons.
  • Armor Proficiencies: None.
  • The Mage casts spells as a Wizard (memorization).
  • Skill points at 1st Level: 2 + Int modifier
  • Skill Points at Each Additional Level: 2 + Int modifier

Progression Table

Level BAB Fort Ref Will Special
1 +0 +2 +0 +2 Combat Training, Arcane Balance
2 +1 +3 +0 +3 Learned
3 +1 +3 +1 +3
4 +2 +4 +1 +4
5 +2 +4 +1 +4 Bonus feat
6 +3 +5 +2 +5 Epiphany
7 +3 +5 +2 +5
8 +4 +6 +2 +6
9 +4 +6 +3 +6
10 +5 +7 +3 +7 Bonus feat
11 +5 +7 +3 +7
12 +6/+1 +8 +4 +8
13 +6/+1 +8 +4 +8 Epiphany
14 +7/+2 +9 +4 +9
15 +7/+2 +9 +5 +9 Bonus feat
16 +8/+3 +10 +5 +10
17 +8/+3 +10 +5 +10
18 +9/+4 +11 +6 +11
19 +9/+4 +11 +6 +11
20 +10/+5 +12 +6 +12 Bonus feat

Special Features

At first level, a mage knows all 0th level spells of the chosen school, and a number of first level spells equal to 4 + intelligence modifier. When levelling up, the mage may choose 2 new spells known. A mage can learn new spells (of their chosen schools) from scrolls, spellbooks or other arcane spellcasters.

Arcane Balance

A mage can control arcane energies better than most, and is able to have two active arcane spells (buffs) at the same time.

Combat Training

A mage undergoes a minimum of combat training, granting proficiency with a weapon of choice.

Learned

Upon gaining second level and every level gained thereafter, the mage may choose to learn a new arcane school. If a new school is learned this way, the mage does not gain spell progression for the level (though all other benefits like more HP, better saves, feats and such is still gained). When casting a spell however, caster level is calculated as total mage level, regardless of how many schools have been learned.

Example: A sixth level mage knowing only one school so far, is levelling up to seventh level. He decides to learn a new school, instead of gaining spell progression. This means that he has access to second level spells of both schools he now knows, but because his spell progression stalled for this level, he does not have third level spells yet. If he casts «magic missile» though, his caster level would still be counted as 7. When gaining a new school, the Mage may immediately choose two spells from that school.

Epiphany

The Mage gains a new school of magic. When gaining a new school, the Mage may immediately choose two spells from that school.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.